Q & A: Hazel

"Never stop taking chances"



    Height: Five feet, four inches

    Weight: One hundred and twenty-five pounds

    Hair: Black

    Hometown: Montreal, Quebec

LADYSPORTS: Welcome to Ladysports, Hazel. When did you first get into the sport?
HAZEL: Ever since I was very young, my dad and I used to go to a center in Montreal and watch wrestling every Monday night for many years.

LS: Who trained you?
H: I've been training myself for 30 years and counting in the Fitness domain, such as weight lifting and group fitness classes.

LS: What was your biggest influence to become a wrestler?
H: My biggest influence was WWE star Chyna.

LS: What other sports do you have an interest in?
H: I practice weight lifting, group fitness classes, and have participated in many obstacle course races.

LS: How would you describe yourself in terms of attitude, personality, likes, dislikes, and strengths?
H: I'm a pretty easygoing person, always laughing and energetic, and very respectful towards everyone I meet. I get along with everyone I meet. There are many likes, but I do like training, and trying different things. Taking walks and hanging out with friends is also something that I like. I dislike people who are liars, and who take advantage of others. People who judge you, without knowing anything about you. My strengths are determination, being persistent, strong willed and always trying to better myself.

LS: What is your most marked characteristic as a wrestler?
H: I would have to say that perhaps my friendliness is my m ost marked characteristic as a wrestler.

LS: Describe a typical day of training for you. What is most important in your workout?
H: My typical day of training will consist of two body parts for a few exercises with a few reps to failure. I train six times a week and I take one day off. I concentrate on strength and power, rather than cardio which I don't do much of. There are no body parts I hate working out, since I love to train, period.

LS: How would you best describe your ring style?
H: I would say that my ring style would probably be more of the light semi competitive mat wrestling.

LS: What moves are you best known for?
H: Some would say that perhaps the scissor hold would be where I'm strongest and known for.

LS: Have you ever been injured in the ring?
H: No, I have not so far, and hope it stays that way.

LS: Who have been your toughest opponents?
H: I haven't had many so far, but I would have to say, I had a great challenge with Laken.

LS: Who are your allies?
H: I don't have any as of yet.

LS: What has been your most memorable win?
H: My most memorable win so far was against my manager Francois Plante.

LS: What was your worst loss?
H: I would have to say, it was against Laken from the United Kingdom.

LS: Who is the one wrestler you would most like to face in the ring, but haven't yet?
H: I don't have anyone wrestler in mind, since there are many.

LS: What type of match do you enjoy the most?
H: Semi competitive single matches, but I'm open to try other types, so long as safety is #1.

LS: What sort of reactions do you get from people when they learn you are a wrestler?
H: They think I'm kidding due to my age and are shocked.

LS: What is so special about this sport to you?
H: I love the rush, and adrenaline it brings me. It makes me feel powerful.

LS: What are your fans like?
H: My fans are so supportive, and are my biggest cheerleaders always encouraging me and writing to me asking me if I'm alright, and inquiring on the fight.

LS: If you had the power, what one thing would you do to improve the sport?
H: I feel that there is not enough emphasis for women wrestling in Montreal, so I would definitely start something going for more women to get involved knowing that age, and size wouldn't be a factor.

LS: Where have you wrestled, and what titles have you held?
H: I've been wrestling in a ring in Longeuil, Montreal, QC.

LS: What are your thoughts on women participating in the sport?
H: I think it's amazing that more and more woman are taking the chance to get involved with wrestling, especially in today's generation where a woman can pretty much do anything a man can.

LS: What was your most unforgettable moment in the sport?
H: Meeting all the wonderful fighters, and wonderful memories so far.

LS: Any regrets?
H: None

LS: What would you do if you couldn't be in wrestling?
H: I would continue to train clients and teach my group fitness classes.

LS: What is your personal motto?
H: Never stop taking chances.

LS: What would make you most happy in life?
H: We have nothing if we don't have our health, our happiness and lots of love around us.